Go Back

What Is First Past The Post In Horse Racing? Rules Explained

What Is First Past The Post In Horse Racing? Rules Explained

Horse racing, a sport that has captivated enthusiasts for centuries. Amidst the roar of the crowd and the flurry of excitement, the term "First Past The Post" echoes through the racetrack. 

But, what exactly does it mean, and how does it influence the outcome of the race? Let's saddle up and explore the ins and outs of First Past The Post in the world of horse racing in this Wizard Slots casino blog post.

First Past The Post Explained

Before we plunge headlong into the equestrian arena, let's decipher the enigma that is "First Past The Post." In the realm of horse racing, this term isn't a political strategy, but rather a fundamental principle dictating the winner of a race. 

Simply put, the first horse that gallops past the finishing line with its nose in front is declared the victor. It's a straightforward, no-nonsense approach – a horse crosses the line first, it wins. End of story.

Now, here's where it gets interesting – there's no need for a photo finish or a microscope to scrutinise the margin of victory. Whether it's by a nose, a neck, or a mile, if a horse claims the lead, it seizes the glory. It's a ruthless world out there on the track, and every inch counts in the race to be crowned the ultimate speedster.

First Past The Post Example

To wrap your head around this concept, let's dive into a hypothetical scenario at the illustrious Ascot Racecourse. 

Picture this: a group of elite thoroughbreds thundering down the final stretch, the jockeys urging their mounts towards the coveted finish line. In the blink of an eye, Horse A surges ahead, its nose skimming the tape as it triumphantly claims the title.

In this scenario, irrespective of how minuscule the lead may be, Horse A is hailed as the winner under the First Past The Post rule. It doesn't matter if Horse B was a hair's breadth behind – the glory, the accolades, and, of course, the winnings go to the horse that asserted its dominance in that critical moment.

Now, you might be wondering, what if it's a photo finish? What if the naked eye struggles to discern the winner? Well, fear not, for the First Past The Post rule doesn't concern itself with the nuances of a close call. As long as a horse boldly gallops ahead, leaving its competitors in the dust, it clinches victory without the need for a magnifying glass.

When Does First Past The Post Not Apply? 

As we take part in the fun of the racetrack, it's crucial to acknowledge that the First Past The Post rule isn't an omnipotent deity governing every race. There are instances where this rule takes a back seat, yielding the spotlight to alternative determinants of victory.

Distorted Start

Picture this – the starting gates swing open, but chaos ensues. A horse stumbles, a jockey falters, and the orderly commencement dissolves into disarray. In such cases, where the race begins in a less-than-ideal fashion, the stewards may intervene. If the distorted start significantly impacts the outcome, the race might be declared void, and the First Past The Post rule becomes a mere footnote.

Objections and Inquiries

The racetrack is not just a showcase of equine athleticism; it's also a battleground of strategy and tactics. Jockeys, ever vigilant, can lodge objections or requests for inquiries if they believe a rival breached the rules. In the face of such disputes, the First Past The Post outcome might be put on hold until the stewards investigate and pass judgment. It's a legal tussle on the turf, and the final verdict may alter the initial outcome.

Disqualification Drama

In the riveting world of horse racing, fair play is paramount. If a horse, in its quest for victory, flouts the rules – be it interference with a fellow competitor or a blatant violation – the stewards might wield the mighty sword of disqualification. In such instances, the horse that initially crossed the finish line first is stripped of its triumph, and the crown is passed to the next in line.

Do Bookies Pay First Past The Post?

Now that we've unravelled the mystique surrounding the First Past The Post rule, let's turn our attention to the question lingering in the minds of many punters – do bookies pay up when the outcome is decided by this principle?

Clear-Cut Victory

In cases where the race concludes with a decisive, unambiguous First Past The Post result, bookies waste no time in doling out winnings. It can be a straightforward transaction – you bet on the winning horse, and the bookies pony up the cash.

Pending Inquiries

However, the scenario becomes a tad more complex when the stewards raise an eyebrow and initiate inquiries or objections. In such instances, bookmakers may exercise caution, holding back any potential payouts until the dust settles. 

Disqualifications and Revisions

Now, if the unthinkable happens – your chosen horse is initially hailed as the victor, only to be dethroned due to a subsequent disqualification – bookies may need to recalculate possible payouts based on the revised outcome, and your triumphant moment could transform into a bitter pill to swallow.

In essence, while bookies are in the business of facilitating bets and celebrating wins, they aren't immune to the fluctuations and uncertainties inherent in the dynamic world of horse racing.


And there you have it – the saga of First Past The Post in horse racing, a tale woven with the spirit of competition, the fun of victory, and the unpredictability of the racetrack. So, the next time you find yourself at the racetrack, cheering on your chosen steed, remember the essence of First Past The Post – where a mere nose can potentially transform a contender into a champion. Happy racing!